Skip to content
East Renfrewshire Counts — East Renfrewshire, in numbers.Local help →

East Renfrewshire, in numbers

People and living standards

East Renfrewshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

East Renfrewshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 85,770 in 1991 to 99,840 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

East Renfrewshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 87,410 people in 1996; 99,840 people in 2025. 14.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — East Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199185,770
199286,050
199386,490
199486,660
199587,530
199687,410
199787,890
199888,310
199988,520
200089,040
200189,410
200289,930
200389,870
200489,790
200589,880
200689,750
200789,840
200889,870
200989,980
201090,410
201190,810
201291,060
201391,660
201492,530
201593,090
201693,880
201794,810
201895,070
201995,410
202095,820
202196,210
202297,170
202398,620
202499,440
202599,840
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

East Renfrewshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,846 people in 1996; 20,071 people in 2025. 6.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — East Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,507
199218,554
199318,680
199418,712
199518,872
199618,846
199718,936
199819,125
199919,157
200019,124
200119,166
200219,061
200318,770
200418,663
200518,511
200618,324
200718,167
200818,027
200917,904
201017,821
201117,925
201217,726
201317,775
201417,895
201517,998
201618,269
201718,619
201818,853
201919,008
202019,167
202119,220
202219,439
202319,799
202419,967
202520,071
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

East Renfrewshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 55,706 people in 1996; 57,279 people in 2025. 2.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — East Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199155,423
199255,471
199355,635
199455,535
199555,961
199655,706
199755,838
199855,856
199955,858
200056,161
200156,163
200256,524
200356,411
200456,298
200556,373
200656,176
200756,297
200856,247
200956,153
201056,423
201156,523
201256,394
201356,512
201456,769
201556,812
201656,958
201757,136
201856,872
201956,682
202056,560
202156,364
202256,613
202357,260
202457,466
202557,279
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

East Renfrewshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,858 people in 1996; 22,490 people in 2025. 74.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — East Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,840
199212,025
199312,175
199412,413
199512,697
199612,858
199713,116
199813,329
199913,505
200013,755
200114,081
200214,345
200314,689
200414,829
200514,996
200615,250
200715,376
200815,596
200915,923
201016,166
201116,362
201216,940
201317,373
201417,866
201518,280
201618,653
201719,055
201819,345
201919,720
202020,093
202120,626
202221,118
202321,561
202422,007
202522,490
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 96,825 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · East Renfrewshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total84,69187.5%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 90,574 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · East Renfrewshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White85,19594.1%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller160%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group3860.4%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1,0611.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani2,7793.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi140%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese4760.5%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian2410.3%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British1680.2%
Other Ethnic Group2380.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14.6% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

East Renfrewshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,093 per person in 1997; £29,752 per person in 2024. 111.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — East Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,093
199814,264
199914,420
200015,398
200115,930
200215,923
200316,124
200416,881
200517,714
200618,470
200719,115
200820,093
200919,634
201019,711
201119,622
201219,969
201320,845
201421,174
201522,384
201622,237
201722,479
201822,742
201922,467
202022,596
202123,748
202225,808
202327,854
202429,752
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

East Renfrewshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 32.8% in 1997; 14.6% in 2024. 18.2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — East Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199732.8
199831.7
199927.5
200029.4
200128.8
200225.9
200323.7
200424.4
200526
200626.1
200724.6
200827.6
200922.6
201022
201120.4
201218.2
201319
201417.1
201517.7
201615.5
201714.1
201811.4
20196.6
20207.7
20218.7
202212.4
202313.9
202414.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · East Renfrewshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · East Renfrewshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£306,000

July 2026 · East Renfrewshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.